News From The Ninth Arch

2023 Columbian Award Recipients

Columbian Award

The following Companions received the Columbian Award at the 2023 General Grand Council Triennial meeting:

Africa – Lin Mumbo – Togo
Asia Pacific – Winston Chen – Taipei, Taiwan
Brazil – Rafael P. Soneghet – Brazil
East Central – John A. Bridegroom – Indiana
Europe – Yves Berthomieu – France
Latin America – Ricardo Preciado
Mid-Atlantic – James Bryson Walsh – Delaware
North Central – Charles Dale Yates – Iowa
Northeast – Paul C. Smith – New Hampshire
Northwest – Robert Eugene Worthington – Oregon
South Central – Joseph Phillip Rouse – Arkansas
Southeast – Glenn Edwin Chandler, Sr. – Florida
Southwest – William A. Butterfield – Utah
At Large – Sidney Cooley – Alabama
At Large – Dennis S.A. Ing – Hawaii
At Large – William “Sandy” T. Karstens, IV – Vermont

The award shall be considered only for exceptional and meritorious service to Cryptic Masonry above and beyond the call of duty. Any member, Grand Member, or Past Grand Officer in good standing is eligible for this award.

Named for what is reputed to be the first organized Council of Royal Masters in the United States – Columbia Council No. 1 of New York, which was organized September 2, 1810 – This is an award for service given at the Regional level. Each Triennial, one is awarded to an outstanding Cryptic Mason for each of the Regions of the General Grand Council (now 14), and a maximum of an additional three at large awards given. This award was approved by the General Grand Council during the 33rd Triennial.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top